Sunday, October 23, 2005

Rabbit Fur Coat track list revealed:


Jenny Lewis decided that since she was turning 30 in January, she should give herself a special birthday present: her first solo record.

"I thought it was a nice thing to do on my 30th birthday, to do something on my own and to be independent," the Rilo Kiley frontwoman laughed. "And I think 30 can either send you into some sort of depressing tailspin, or the opposite. So with this, it's like a little present to me, like, 'Oh wow, you've made it this long!' "

So on January 24 she'll release the delightfully countrified
Rabbit Fur Coat, a soulful, self-assured disc that draws heavily from the winsome sexiness of Dusty Springfield's masterpiece Dusty in Memphis and the unbridled moxie of Loretta Lynn's Coal Miner's Daughter. There's plenty of mentions of God and the devil, tons of three-part vocal harmonies and "Ooh-ooh" choruses (courtesy of Louisville, Kentucky's the Watson Twins) and lots of twangy guitar and church organ. There's even an out-of-left-field cover of "Handle With Care," the 1989 radio hit from AARP all-stars the Traveling Wilburys, featuring Death Cab for Cutie's Ben Gibbard and Bright Eyes' Conor Oberst trading verses instead of original Wilburys Roy Orbison and Bob Dylan.

Track list for Jenny Lewis' Rabbit Fur Coat, according to Team Love:

* "Run Devil Run"
* "Big Guns"
* "Raise Up With Fists!"
* "Happy"
* "The Charging Sky"
* "Melt Your Heart"
* "You Are What You Love"
* "Rabbit Fur Coat"
* "Handle With Care"
* "Born Secular"
* "It Wasn't Me"
* "Happy (Reprise)"


Post a Comment

<< Home